1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EDC Blade in M390 or S110v. What to carry?

Discussion in 'General Knife Discussion' started by ChrisLee, Apr 17, 2018.

Which steel would you choose for EDC?

Poll closed Apr 20, 2018.
  1. M390

50 vote(s)
    84.7%
  2. S110V

9 vote(s)
    15.3%
  1. ChrisLee

ChrisLee Gold Member Gold Member

May 26, 2013
    Trying to make a decision on these two steels. I like them both. I have lots of experience with Elmax and I think M390 would be a good jump up that would behave close to Elmax. So sharpening wouldn't be a problem. Plus, I know M390 is a very tough steel. But I have been reading about S110V and I'm very interested in it's edge retention. However I see the extreme hardness as being one of it strong but weak points. Just how brittle is S110V? Some opinions would be appreciated.

2. woodsmanoh

woodsmanoh

Sep 28, 2017
    Both are great steels that are in my EDC rotation. I alternate weekly between the two and my personal preference is for the m390. I do not have any data to back up my preference and actually it may really be just blade geometry that is causing me to favor one over the other and not the steel itself. I found that the factory edge on my s110v was a little unstable, easily rolled but after I re-profiled the edge it has been solid ever since .

Mr.SATism likes this.
  3. Alberta Ed

Alberta Ed

Jun 29, 1999
    Difficult to say whether you would note any significant difference in real life. Both are great steels. I have not seen any problems so far with chipping/brittleness in my Military S110V and all the reviews of S100V knives I have read so far have been positive.

Mr.SATism likes this.
  4. notwen

notwen Gold Member Gold Member

Feb 20, 2017
    M390 is much more pleasant to sharpen for me and my limited sharpening abilities. ymmv ;)

Mr.SATism likes this.
  5. SV-97