EdgePro vs. Sharpmaker

I have an EdgePro now and have difficulty getting my knives sharp. I am a rookie at sharpening knives and have a lot of expensive knives. I do not wan to mess those up but I just do not see where the Sharpmaker is superior or easier to operate as some have told me.

Have you watched the EdgePro videos carefully? If you watch them until you're sure you understand them and practice carefully, it's hard to see how you could NOT get good results.

If your knives are not getting sharp, the reason usually is that you are not holding a constant angle of stone to blade. The EdgePro does better at keeping the blade-to-stone angle constant than any other method I've tried. Are you sure you aren't rocking the blade? Some blades don't lie flat on the table, and may need to be shimmed in some way to keep from rocking.

Perhaps you should call EdgePro and talk to Ben Dale himself. He's more than willing to help his customers.

Yes I have watched the video about 10 times.
It is possible that the blade is moving(rocking) while I am sharpening it but I am careful that it doesn't.

the results posted by ankerson & others using the edge pro are impressive .the only reason i have'nt bought one is i keep buying more knives. dennis

just buy a couple of benchstones and a $12 Mora to learn freehand sharpening with.

it really isn't that hard to do.

I have an EdgePro now and have difficulty getting my knives sharp. I am a rookie at sharpening knives and have a lot of expensive knives. I do not wan to mess those up but I just do not see where the Sharpmaker is superior or easier to operate as some have told me.

Sharpmaker has no clamps, the angles are consistent so long as you don't have a seizure while sharpening. So long as you hold the knife with spine up and the cutting edge down, slice across the stone, you get a decent edge. It may not be all pretty mirror polished and cannot see yourself on the cutting edge, but it does work. :thumbup: