Electrician leatherman?

I'm a student of electrical engineering and currently edc a Benchmade osbourne. While fishing the other day I found that my ccc leatherman knock offs pliers weren't even thick enough to get a hook out of a cods mouth!

Well I've known it for some time but a multi tool is the proper edc for me. I know engineering isn't quite electrician work but I work on circuits and end up reaching for needlenose, wire strippers, and crimpers often enough.

I've considered quite a few models but I keep on going back to the charge tti/alx. It's essentially a wave with more ergonomic handles. More importantly they threw the crimper on the pliers and a line cutter on the saw. The wire stripper on these really isn't anything special but it's better than just a thumb and a blade.

I really don't like the looks of black oxide on a leatherman but I have to admit I've seen rust on quite a few multi tools in my time and the coating definitely has utility to it. The black oxide version of the ALX is a very convincing option but that "tactical" look is a big turn off for me. I don't want to look like I'm trying to be anything more than a layman when taking out my tool. Whatever I go with I'll make sure it's properly lubricated and taken care of.

So, well versed multi tool collectors, what would you recommend for an edc that has pliers, wire strippers, and crimpers, along with the other essentials like screwdrivers and wire cutters?

http://www.garrettwade.com/bear-electrician-multi-tool/p/65A01.04/

Also for reference this seems to be the exact model I have except the only writing on it is "china" inside the handles. I'll be honest i have literally no idea where it came from. Some family member must have picked it up a long time ago and forgot about it (lots of rust). Regardless the pliers don't have the girth and bite I'd like.

Last edited: