Elk horns for handle material

A buddy of mine gave me some horns as I want to try some for handle material. One was a shed so it's pretty white and the other set he had on the wall in his garage. Would the weathered one have to be stabilized prior to use? Any tips or tricks when working with this material would be appreciated.

I'm no expert by any means, I can only speak from my personal experience but I've made a few antler handles and I've never had any of mine properly stabilized. It definitely couldn't hurt if you did, but what I've done is to coat mine with minwax wood stabilizer. It has worked just fine for me. YMMV

Elk has a lot of pith that you will have to remove. After it's removed fill the void with a piece of wood (glued in), then drill and broach the tang hole out of the wood. I tried just filling the void with epoxy, and it must have expanded slightly on me, because it caused cracks in the handle.

Thanks. I was going to try using the flat parts for scales. Maybe on a folder and screw them on (2-56 screws) instead of pinning them

Folks have been using elk antler for knife handles for centuries if not longer.

I used Elk Antler for this knife, it was a large piece and I was able to use only the hard white portion, otherwise elk antler is fairly porous.
24269314010_32f4740ca6_b.jpg

Elk is fine and the older the better! It actually solidifies as it ages, the last piece I used only had about a 1/4 " pith channel. if its chalky white, stain it then seal it with super glue then sand it down, looks like fossil ivory

What do you stain the horns with? These are the horns that were given to me. I don't know how old the dark set is, but probably several years. If I use them on a folder or for scales I want to finish them to 600-1000 grit and then buff them smooth so they are shiny and smooth.

IMG_20160126_103010_zpsjxuzvfbv.jpg

IMG_20160126_103130_zpsujsmosxs.jpg