Emerson or Al Mar SERE 2000 for workin' knife?

Which would be the better hard workin', take-abuse knife?

• Emerson Mach-1/Max-1 (same knife)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Al Mar SERE 2000

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Since I started collecting customs, autos, etc. I've come to realize I don't have a hard-working, diggin' in the dirt, scrapin' paint, prying, hammerin', abusin' folder and I need one.

So I'm thinking either an Emerson Mach-1/Max-1 (same knife) or an Al Mar SERE 2000.

I've got plenty of experience with the Emersons (chisel edges don't bother me) and zero with the Al Mar. Anyone beat the heck out of both of them?

I'm kinda leanin' toward the Al Mar because I think it has thicker liners and therefore a sturdier knife. What do you all think?

Well, based on price, and my person preferance, I'd go with the Emreson. I think that they are both fine knives.

I think you owe it to yourself to experience the Al Mar. Fit and finish are typically better than Emerson's. No doubt both would be fine knives, but I lean to the Al Mar.

I own both knives and I agree with J. Rummerfield, go with a Buck/Strider. It blows both knives out of the water for rodustness. Don't get me wrong the S2K is head and shoulders above every EKI I have owned or seen except for Emersons custom work. Matter of fact I think out there today in the manufactured market the S2K and the B/S are two of the best manufactured knives available to a person. I have seen none better for lockup and fit and finish. I really like VG10 steel too. Bucks ATS34 as done by BOS is exceptional in this regard also. The B/S is just that much more heavier duty than even the S2K as for torsional stiffness. You know not easily flexed.