Essential Primitive Skills

I will be the first to admit that I am not an expert in primitive survival. I feel that under ideal conditions I could make a friction fire. I've come close under ideal conditions in the field but under less than ideal conditions I think I'd be cold and lonely. I make decent 2 ply cordage from plant fibers. Under ideal conditions I make a pretty good debris shelter.

My survival skills revolve around preparation and a minimalist, multi-use approach. I know I am dependant upon a minimum of gear. My survival pack is down to about 12 - 15 pounds but it is 12 pounds of essential.

So I ask you. What is your list of essential primitive skills and how do they work together in your survival strategy in the area you are most likely to need to survive? Mac

Good thread Max. I guess I'm willing to show my ignorance. :rolleyes: ;)

I've played a little with a firedrill, but havn't gotten anywhere near good enough with one to say I could select the wood, make one and get a fire going under adverse conditions. I have been reading up on them though, so guess I'll eventually get it down. Until then, I guess I'd have to rely on my always having a knife, ferro rod, lighter and dry tinder on me during waking hours and close to hand if I need to grab and go.

I can make up a few different shelter designs, depending on conditions. That would include the Debris hut, lien 2, climbing into a burned out redwood and making it cushy, a shelter similar to a sweat lodge with frame and covering, made up a firebed from Ron Hoods example and even made a cozy nest in a tree.

I havn't used flora to make up cordage yet. Something I've got on my list of things to learn. I have skinned, tanned and braided cordage from the leather.