Ever use one of these?

I've been using one for about 4 years and it's great! Not as heavy duty as the guy that makes them (on this list) designed for knife makers, not as many accessories as some, but a more than acceptable grinder.
Still love it, Lynn

I've had one for a couple of weeks. If I could have afforded a KMG, I would rather have that. But perfectly usable and well made. It's easier to taper a tang on a KMG because the blade will be above the top roller where you can hold it. I have to use a homemade magnet and push stick arrangement on the Coote. But if money is an issue (and it always is :) ) I would still buy the Coote. I've finished 2 knives and have 4 more in process, so I'm not a veteran maker, but I know machinery and the Coote is OK.

I bought a 1.5 hp motor locally, and got a set of 3-step pulleys from Norman Coot. The fast speed works well for rough grinding and you can slow it down for finishing work.

Steve

You might think I'm crazy, but my Craftsman 2x48 is still the one I use the most. I now have a Grizzly and a Bader, but use the Craftsman when I have to get it right. Maybe it's just me. It also has a disc on the side which I couldn't live without.

That 2" width works for you? I've got the 4 x 36, but I have to use some 2" belts from TKS. It kills me everytime! I just *can't* find 4" belts in the grits I need though...

It's 2x42, my mistake. I just looked it up on Craftsman's webpage. It's $200, however, the belts are way overpriced, that's the drawback. Even the platen is good. I was thinking of putting a pyroceram backing on it, but really don't need it.

Nick,

I have the coote with the 10" wheel, small wheel attachment and the 3 step pulley system. This is all I use for a grinder. there are better grinders out there, but you'll pay a bunch more for them too, for the price Mr. Coote makes a darn good grinder. I really like mine. Take a look at my web site, all the knives were ground on the coote.

Good Luck

Bill