F-S Commando from Brigade QM

Rusty

Got the latest Brigade QM catalogue yesterday and it offers for $39 a British Commando knife ( Fairbairn - Sykes ) that is supposed to be from the contractor to the Ministry of Defense, and of actual British issue type.

I've wanted an F-S, but the Wilkinsons are way too expensive. I have little experience with Brigade QM, but it sounds a little too good. They say in their catalog that they brought it back, so has anyone bought one of these previously from BQM or had other experience with them? I don't want to waste my money on something like the "genuine gurka kukri from the government contractor" another company sells.

Well, the few dealings I have had with Brigade Quartermasters were pleasant enough, though I never bought knives from them.

A comment on the FS Commando knife;
If you are buying from a colectors' standpoint, I encourage you. It's a neat knife with neat history. However, from a using standpoint, there is a reason that Col. Applegate "refined" the design. We are all familiar with the stories of points breaking off, how the handle can be a bit unwieldy. I personaly find it pinches when executing a thrust against a physical target. This knife was patterned on, and is better suited as, an assassin's knife. It therefore probably does have some use as a sentry removal tool. Being that this is an unlikely use nowadays, I reccomend Col. Applegate's knife.

I had an F/S in my collection for a good long while, it was an el cheapo deluxe knockoff, but it was fun to play with, while it may not have the best handle for using, it is great for flourishes and showing off. If anything like that's what you have in mind, you should be happy with one. One more time, if you're getting one for use, especialy in a military context, get the Applegate.

Rusty,