Farriers rasp knife?

has anyone made a knife from a farriers rasp? I know they can be junk steel or case hardened. The two that were given to me are a Nicholson and a Save Edge which I have read good things about both. It looks like the difficulty comes in getting it to harden. I have read many things about using water, motor oil, salt water etc. I have also read to not anneal it at all: just grind it as is being careful on the temps while doing so. I'd really like to make a nice camp knife for my buddy who gave them to me but don't want to put a bunch of work into it if its a bad idea. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

I'm not a pro but I do have experience in this area so fo what it's worth here we go.

As for the files those are good ones. Should do fine.
As for not annealing, unless you have an awsome 2 x 72 grinder and plan on burning up a few carbide bits it's going to be tough.
I made a dozen or so file knives and had good results quenching in canola oil. Heat to just past magnetic, hold for a couple of minutes and quench.

Hope this helps.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Also for what it's worth.....I had two Nicholson farrier's rasps and a Simmonds farrier's rasp, all three old...from the 70's the old guy I got them from told me. All three were case hardened pieces of junk. I discovered this after I spent a lot of time forging, grinding and MULTIPLE attempts at heat treating in two different shops with multiple methods, temperatures and quenchants. They were no good.

The moral of the story is that just because it says 'Nicholson' or 'Simmonds' or whatever else and is old(er).....doesn't mean it's good, in spite of what many people claim.

How hard does steel need to be to file horse hooves?

Horse shoers use an interesting crooked knife to scrape the sole and clean out around the frog.

Edit: It's called a hoof knife.
ef62c05cfcb6fdc55a4c502f67210133.jpg

Last edited: