First CRK Factory Service Experience

photoman12001

Gold Member
I just completed my first experience with CRK factory service with four knives. Overall it was a good experience, though I've had no bad experience with any knife factory service from Benchmade, Spyderco, ZT, or Emerson.

Summary:
  • The overall process took just over two months. That's much slower than others but it's probably a smaller operation and the spa treatment has to take some time. I wouldn't be surprised if some of that is batch work too.
  • They followed my request for each knife well, except the Large Regular NICA 400.
  • They would not refinish the NICA 400 Regular handle because someone had done a Scrotchbrite pad treatment at some point. Not a big deal but I think it's worth noting.
  • I had dual thumb studs installed on the three 21s for $35 each. This was worth it to me but I think it should be standard from the factory like on the Inkosi.
  • The large Insingo micarta received a full spa treatment and it looks new, better really since I replaced the pocket clip with an insert and now there is no rub mark from the clip. I'm very pleased with this. They also adjusted the lock bar tension and reapplied the heat treatment to its face.
  • Being deprived of a third of my CRK collection sucked, especially since these are some of my favorites and EDC knives.
_DSC4530%20Edit%20Layers%201024%20Pixel%208_zpsesvkgu4o.jpg

By the way, I actaully like the contrasting look on the scale of the large Regular NICA 400 but I just wanted it to match the factory finish on the small version I have.

45A03BAA-63DB-4074-8A14-3A73FD2B4185_zpsolkig1jp.jpg

Last edited:
May I please ask, since I now have a large 21 Carbon Fiber inlay, like your small CF Insingo....

What all will CRK do for spa treatment on that model, given that its got a polished blade, handles, etc ???
I really want to USE my CF 21, but stress over messing up its wonderful condition.

BTW = Awesome set of CRK's there !!