First Laconico/Wohlwend Collaboration Camp Knife

I just finished this one up yesterday! It is our first collaboration camp knife. Mark forged this out of an old leaf spring. I did the grind, heat treat, and finish. Mark will do the sheath. He will also be doing the heat treat on future projects. I just did this one because I had the knife with me and was already treating other blades at the time. The blade length is 6", overall is 11", and thickness is just over 3/16" at the ricasso. The handle is osage with red liners.. This is my first time grinding a forged blade. It's a bit different from grinding steel that is flat and perfectly even all around. It is so much more fun because you really have to use your imagination and creativity.. We will definately be doing more of these collaborations. Next we will pick one from your designs. I hope you guys like it. I'm going to go cut some stuff with it now! Comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks for looking:)
-Ray

lw1.jpg

lw2.jpg

lw3.jpg

Wow!! That is badass!!!

I love it. Ray and Mark-- GREAT JOB!

I love the osage/red, and the scale left on. Cool!

Love the slight belly of the edge.Looks as if it may cut some stuff!!.Beautiful work
Dan'l

Very nice. I'll never be sold on the retro flavor and the wood but I really like the design. As much as I personally prefer drop points it's lovely to see something different. Strangely enough when I was toying with the idea of drawing one up for you two the other day I thought of moving away from the drop point more toward something like that, or maybe even a trailing point. But that seemed incongruous to your regular style. Glad you went for it though, it certainly suits the rustic tones.

How do you feel about semi-skinners?

That came out great, wish you'd got your heads together sooner and entered that into the camp knife challenge we had !!!!

oooohhh.. now that thing is nice...:eek: great job guys...:thumbup: love the osage scales too...