Fixed blade for field dressing/breaking bone.

Sigsog226

Gold Member
Hey everybody, this is a question a co worker of mine ask me, but thought some of you all would know better then me.

Hes been really into deer hunting the last few years and he said when he is dressing a deer, he needs a really strong beefy knife to break through the pelvic bone. A buddy of his has a kabar usmc and he ask me if that was the best choice for something like that.

I told him i think that would be a good choice for that and skinning both, and also pointed him to beckers (bk7 to be exact). Ive only skinned a deer once and its been awhile since i have, so im no expert on subject.

Anyway, told him i would run it by my knife buddies and see what they would suggest. Hes dead set on a fixed blade though, i also recommended a hatchet/axe, but he doesnt want to carry one out there. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

I don't break any bone when dealing with deer. I just debone the meat while hanging.

I do saw the front legs. I've been thinking a hatchet and a flat wood surface would be better.

I use a piece of hacksaw blade with a duct tape handle for this, but they make special saws for this with a plastic nub on the end to avoid bladder puncture. A wire Gigli saw with detachable handles also works well.

Anything I'd willing wail on bone with (like a khukri) is not something I'd process a deer or elk with.