Fleece rating question

I have been using fleece for the past 12 years. I have yet to determine what the rating micro, 100, 200 or 300 mean, other than an arbitrary number used, depending on manufacturer. With wool, I can at least get a good comparitive idea due to ounces per square yard. Do the fleece rating numbers mean something that I have missed? I have researched this many times, and can not come up with an answer.

The heavier the weight the warmer the fabric ... 100 is extremely light, 200
is a mid, and 300 is a very warm piece of fleece.

I well understand, and own the various thicknesses, but I am looking for a more concise explaination of the meaning of the numerical rating system other than "thin, medium, and thick". Probably looking for something which is non existent.

If you own similarly cut clothes in the various "numbers," you could weigh them and see if there those numbers actually might mean something. If they do, a 200 weight pullover should weigh approximately twice what a 100 weight pullover weighs. A 300 weight jacket should weigh 50% more than a 200 weight jacket. A scale should get you at least close to an answer.

It's the weight of the fabric in Grams per Square Meter (GSM). ;)

Right on, as does Woolpower reports its weight in the same manner (usually 200 or 400 GSM).

I find the biggest thing with fleece is the quality of the source. Polartech is good stuff as are some of the name brands who generally use it like Sierra designs, Northface, MEC etc. A crappy fleece is not only less warm, but begins pilling right away. My wife and I have a couple of 300 weight polartech fleece jackets from MEC that we have been wearing since 1997. Damn good stuff, albeit they are bulky.

It's the weight of the fabric in Grams per Square Meter (GSM). ;)

Some info I found-

In ounces the difference is:
100 = 9.5 oz per linear yard
200 = 12.5 oz per linear yard
300 = 16 oz per linear yard