Folder for those relatively new to sharp pointy instruments?

I work as a lab technician on my campus, and opening boxes with other people's knives is getting a bit silly. I'd like a good safe folding knife in the $30-50 range. Would be great if it looked good to boot, I'm a fan of how that black teftlon(?) coating looks, and the knives that half stick out (not the sharp end, but you know what I mean) when folded in look kind of cheesy and semi-uncomfortable to pocket, so I'd also prefer something with a handle that swallows most of the blade.

Sorry about this, because I'm sure this has been asked 50 billion times before. Search seems to be broken though. Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

Get yourself a Victorinox Tinker or Super Tinker. It will do everything you need and more at a reasonable price.

yam said:
Get yourself a Victorinox Tinker or Super Tinker. It will do everything you need and more at a reasonable price.

Great advice. You'll find that a Swiss Army Knife (SAK) is handy for a lot more than cutting open boxes.

This is posted in the traditional section, so I guess I can't recommend a Benchmade (710, 635, 910 if you can find one, or Griptillian), or an Emerson (CQC-10 or CQC-8), or a Spyderco (of any description)... but if you had posted in the General forum, I guess I'd say look at those. :D

If you're looking for some advice on a nice, traditional knife that won't scare people, then get yourself a Case, a Schrade Old Timer (Schrade was just bought by another company, so make sure you get one that was made pre-sellout), a Hen & Rooster, or an Eye Brand.
These are all going to be two-hand openers, as opposed to the one-handers I mentioned before.