1. BladeForums has ZERO TOLERANCE for extremism or calls of violence. We request your assistance dealing with this as we do not want to see the site shut down due to violent threats. Please see this thread here in Tech Support: https://www.bladeforums.com/threads/bladeforums-has-a-zero-tolerance-policy-towards-threats-of-violence-extremism-be-warned.1769537/

How To Folder Repair

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by Howard1, Aug 13, 2020.

1. Howard1

Howard1

Jan 16, 2017
    https://imgur.com/a/WlkUCeJ
    Hi all. This is my first attempt at posting pics. I will know if it worked in a minute. The attached are from folder which has the tip sticking out of the handle when closed. I took photos of the rear spring when closed, when open and when I am pressing the blade flat against the spring. I first thought to grind the tang until it rests flush. But if the spring continues to press down after the grind then I have made it worse and solved nothing. I can't pull the scales off as they are covered by sterling covers that appear to be epoxied on. Anyway I make kitchen knives which so far haven't needed a spring. The owner is a friend, and is very sentimental about this knife. What do you all recommend? If you need more info you can reach out to me directly at [email protected].
    Regards

2. Bill DeShivs

Bill DeShivs KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Jun 6, 2000
    Trim a little bit off of the kick (tang) and see what happens.
    I suspect the tip will go down.

Night Rider likes this.
  3. Howard1

Howard1

Jan 16, 2017