Folder to fixed blade conv. Because I can

I'm retired and was bored and I needed a project to get my brain and my hands working. I didn't need another knife. My collection is fairly large and pretty much covers all my cutting/carry needs. Just wanted something to do.
Also I have been slowly trying to downsize and clean out some stuff I've accumulated over the years
Had a blade (440c) from a folder kit I bought about 10 years ago but no liners anymore and missing some hardware so I thought I'd try to make a fixed blade version.

Here's what I put together.
Screenshot-20240309-074631-2.png

Screenshot-20240309-074619-2.png

Hickory scales are cut from a never been used hammer handle I've been hanging onto for like 30 years. Had a piece of steel that just happened to be the same thickness as the blade so there's my full tang. I had some brass leftover from a few blade blanks I handled years ago. Assembled with a couple corby bolts. I would have preferred using some brass round stock instead of Corby's but they were the only brass I had that was the same dia as the pivot hole in the blade and I was glad to get rid of them. There are also two 1/8" brass pins thru the bolsters. You can't see them cuz I know the almost lost art of peening. One goes thru a hole I drilled in the blade a bit below the thumb ramp (holy crap had to use diamond bits, carbide wouldn't touch it). The other 1/8" pin goes thru the bolsters and the tang down in the guard. These pins keep everything from trying to rotate around the corby bolts.

The sheath was much easier as I have made close to 30 sheaths for myself and friends.

Screenshot-20240309-074606-2.png

All comments welcome. I'm too old to piss off so tell me what you really think.
Oh yeah, just try to ignore the thumbstud hole.

Last edited:
All comments welcome. I'm too old to piss off so tell me what you really think.
Oh yeah, just try to ignore the thumbstud hole.