Food for thought

Interesting article, the legal ramifications of using a knife in a self defense situation makes for a good read.

I almost wonder if it ought to be mandatory reading on this forum or any place where people are buying "tactical" knives. :)

Great stuff. I think all the young whipper-snappers around here should take a look at it.

DD

I read this article keeping in mind the "use of force" rules I learned when I got my degree in Criminal Justice, and this is an EXTREMELY well written piece!

A link to this article should be a sticky in all the "tactical" forums or maybe all the forums period.

I also think the authors article on the difference between self-defense and a fight is good.

http://www.nononsenseselfdefense.com/fight_selfdefense.html

I particularly noted the comments about 'wild flailing' attacks often succeeding - simply because they overwhelm practiced defensive tactics.

Many years ago I thought I was a skilled boxer, earning a high school letter, and winning most of my bouts against the other schools in our league. My illusions about my skills crashed when I was matched against a guy with no apparent 'skills' at all - a determined 'flailer' whose sole strategy was 100% offensive bull-rushing. I was effectively helpless - overwhelmed - and the bout was mercifully halted as a TKO.

That event occurred nearly 50 years ago. It was an 'attitude adjustment' that I've never forgotten.

That's a wicked good read. It just about sums up all of my CQB tactics: lots of punches, nuts, and knees. Practicing and sparring helps a lot, but aggression and physical fitness are key. Same thing with a knife, though I tend to focus on stabbing rather than slashing - I don't care about self defense. Volume of fire is what kills.

The sections on the legal ramifications were very, very good. If you need to defend yourself, use a gun.