Found it! 6" fighter WIP

tinfoil hat timmy

Gold Member
This is a thread for you guys over here to see how knives get machined in my shop. Milling is an uncommon approach to knife making, but I’m a machinist and that’s how I do it.

This is the knife I’ll be making:

1.jpg~original

It is a 6” fighter in the same family as my 8” shiv. This will be new pattern.

I won't delve into the design process here because I’ve covered that topic before and this thread is really just more about pictures.

After a design is developed a computer model is made because 3D data is just about a prerequisite for 3D milling.

2.jpg~original

This is being machined in an old vertical machining center. These have carousels loaded with cutting tools, in this case on a chain, that get touched off and can then be called out in a program and used to cut a work piece. I’m mostly using drills, endmills and facemills in this project.

3.jpg~original

Roughing down the top of a work piece with a small inserted facemill

4.jpg~original

This removes the mill scale and major surface flaws and gets the material flatter and closer to net shape.

5.jpg~original

Some holes drilled

6.jpg~original

Some pockets milled out

7.jpg~original

Running a finish pass across the top

8.jpg~original

This is CPM 3V here and it is a bear to finish.

9.jpg~original

Then I engrave my signature and the steel type

10.jpg~original

And flip it over and finish out side 2

11.jpg~original

While I was at it I ran some ELMAX too. It finishes out very clean, but it is abrasive on tooling.

12.jpg~original

The next step is milling the bevels. This is a pretty cool operation, I hope you'll check back in later.

More to come...

Here's what I was talking about.

Last edited:
I'm surprised it wasn't here sooner. Oh well. Now it is. Being a machinist myself, I enjoy this kind of stuff.

I would have done it if I had known. You may want to consider changing the title of the thread though!!