Frame lock moving during use?

Peakbagger46

Gold Member
I’m fairly new to frame locks. Today I was using my ZT 0460 to whittle and noticed the lockbar moved in a substantial amount due to my grip. Is this normal? First picture is position of the lock upon opening, second picture shows how much it travels in when the knife is gripped with a bit of muscle.

https://imgur.com/gallery/L4gF7Mh

It can happen and it's not a sign of quality.
If you complain you can probably get it replaced.
Is there any vertical play when the lock bar is in the first position pictured?

Last edited:
The three Kershaw Knockout’s I have do that.

The locks had never failed though.

I think when you bear down hard, late lockup is inevitable.

I don’t own many frame locks though. I imagine with more precise engineering it should not be so prevalent.

*still saving for a Chris Reeve*

:)

It's a known problem with a few ZT models so I'm not surprised to see it on the 0460. It's not a normal thing to see on framelocks and it means the lock geometry could use some improvement. I've just learned to live with it on my 0452CF.

You can probably force the lock bar in on a lot of framelocks out there but yours is going in way too far. Like, it shouldn't be touching the other scale. Yours looks like it almost does and the knife is pretty new...

My ZT 0850 moves from roughly 25% to about 50-70%, depending on how hard I'm pushing the knife.

My 0450 cf moves the harder I press on the lock bar or how hard I bear down on the knife. Normal lock up is maybe 15-20% but 70% when pressed. Haven't experienced any lock failure at all.

Yep and I don’t like it either, had an xm18 “hard use” folder move around like that, which was a well made knife.
But also why i don’t do frame locks any more either. I’ve had multiple brands of multiple models do this.