Future Cold Steel Value

It’ll be interesting to see 15-20 yrs from now how much the original (pre sell-off) CS products will be worth, especially the popular models. I’m just a newbie when it comes to knives, but I have always liked CS….I mean who else makes a folding Boot Knife (ie. Counterpoint), LOL!!! And let’s face it, we all secretly got a kick out of the whacko promotional videos. In fact those coo-coo videos are probably what first caught my attention in the first place. Definitely a very innovative company. I think the ultimate testament to CS was that many regular everyday people (electricians, plumbers, construction, military, etc) spoke highly of CS and saw them as effective tools. So as the sun sets on CS, I’m left wondering if their original blades might just end up becoming highly coveted….even among the haters:)

I think it is likely to go the other way.

As the brand gets tarnished by poor quality knives, people will want to disassociate from the brand.

It might be ok if they only made new crappy knives, but they will likely take the classic designs and make low quality versions of them, tainting everything.

I think that the best thing that could happen, and it happened, was the logo change.

Thanks, GSM. 👏
Agree, and that change will probably be the deciding factor between the old and new stock. Out of curiousity, I looked up the Lone Star Hunter…someone is selling one at an auction site for $200+. I purchased mine new for $25 probably 7 yrs ago? I guess a lot of people were hating on it’s scales at the time, but that’s what made it unique. That knife and the Mackinac Hunter are absolute beasts (those of you that own either one know what I’m talking about). Most of my CS knives are safe queens and I’ll keep them that way.