G-Shocks

I have been wearing a Caio F-105 for 7-8 years now and it's finally starting to give up the ghost. The battery is fine but the plastic that holds the pins in is wearing away. Life tends to be hard on my watches and it handled everything remarkably well but I would still like to upgrade a bit and I would like a G-shock but I have a few questions.

Which G-shock under $100 has the smallest "footprint" (smallest radius/thinnest)?

Is the Waveceptor atomic function a passive receiver or does it send and receive information? Is it's utility worth it?

Does the Tough Solar feature re-charge in any light or just sunlight? Also I have read that the solar batteries don't perform as well as the usual ones. Has that been your experience or do they keep working for you?

I have a Pathfinder with Atomic Timekeeping and a Solar Rechargeable Battery and it's great. It calibrates with Ft. Collins every night and it's always fully charged. I'm not sure which G-shock you want but here are answers to your questions.
Is the Waveceptor atomic function a passive receiver or does it send and receive information? Is it's utility worth it?
The watch is only a receiver, it does not transmit and yes it's a good feature.
Does the Tough Solar feature re-charge in any light or just sunlight?
Any light but sun is the most efficient.
Also I have read that the solar batteries don't perform as well as the usual ones.
My watch is always fully charged, power is never an issue.

paw1200t-7v_detail.gif

Is the Waveceptor atomic function. . . worth it?

Absolutely. If you like having an accurate watch, this is it. I check my G-Shock Riseman (altimeter, barometer, thermometer) every morning to confirm that it has received the signal during the night. Its nice to have a watch which is accurate down to the second. Everyday.

Which G-shock under $100 has the smallest "footprint" (smallest radius/thinnest)?

I think its the DW5600 series, i also think its one of the most comfortable-