How To Guided rod stropping, my Paper Tape Stropping (PTS) method

Summary: High-polish/Razorsharp-stropping can be done on the Ruixin and similar "GRSS" guided rod sharpening systems very precisely, effectively, conveniently/easily, and budget-friendly. How? By applying the compound on surgical tape. The holder material should provide minimal give: here, balsa wood serves better than leather or basswood.

As you will realize, users of almost any commercial GRSS could adopt my method; i am taking my modded Ruixin as application example. I've given this method a name and call it Paper Tape Stropping or 'to strop a knife/blade/edge with the PTS method' or 'to do PT-stropping' :D. Afaik I am the first to document it in specific detail.

Pro's:
  • very precise, effective, convenient, and budget-friendly way of stropping
  • very easy, also suitable for absolute beginners in the realm of stropping
  • grit progression possible, if wanted; also inexpensive
  • reliable reproducible results, perfect geometrical acuteness
  • can replace free-hand leather strops
  • goes easy on wrists, joints, muscles; it results painful to strop a Surge on leather :(
  • does not produce convex edge profiles; dulling over-stropping is not possible!
  • no strop cleaning/reactivation/maintenance needed; simply exchange the tape
  • typically the PT-strops are prepared fresh, pure, uncontaminated
Con's:
  • may appear tiresome, time-inefficient, longer-taking, slower, less convenient than free-hand leather stropping
  • for starters, may take some pita time to deploy your GRSS on the table desktop
  • may take some time to prepare your series of PTS "whetstones"
  • limited to the range/dimensions of knives which your GRSS accepts