Gurkha House & Craig Gottlieb

Hello all. I'm a newbie to this forum, and this is my first posting. I was up until the wee hours over the past couple of nights reading the threads on the Khukuri knives. I've wanted one since I was a kid(with a full head of hair and good eye sight) and decided that, since the IRS was generous enough to send back some of my own money, now was the time.

After reading all of the test reports, comments and suggestions on the forum I chose to place my order with Gurkha House for a WW II model. I chose the WWII because of its slightly longer blade, nothing more concrete than that. I used the online system on Craigs web site to place my order late last night.

Today I received an e-mail from Craig confirming my order but advising that the WWII model was out of stock until next week. Because of the waiting period Craig offered to send an accessory for the knife as a good-will gesture. That was the first of my surprises.

I sent Craig a reply and asked if he could change my order from 1 WWII model to 2 of his Service #1 models. One of these was to be shipped to me FedEx overnight. The other was to go to my cousin in PA. Craigs web site is still under construction and does not yet have the capability to handle this type of transaction (mulitple destinations on one order). A few moments after my e-mail went out, the phone rang. Surprise #2. It was Craig calling long distance about my order. He confirmed what I wanted, confirmed the shipping addresses and then advised that the FedEx overnight was very, very expensive and asked if I was sure I wanted to take this option (I didn't in the end).