Handle problems

Sean Yaw

Gold Member
Often times when I shape/sand a slipjoint handle (probably not slipjoint specific), I end up with high spots on metal components (e.g., pins, shields, bolster interface). This is more exacerbated with softer materials like wood, but can still arise with micarta. I am pretty new to using a 2x72, but my technique has been to radius bolsters on a 12" wheel, very roughly radius the handle material, then move to low-grit hand sanding. There are usually not high spots coming off the grinder, they show up during hand sanding. It seems my problem is that hand sanding erodes the handle material quicker than the metal components, hence the high spots.

What technique do people use to achieve a smooth consistent radii on handles without these high spots?

Richard338

Gold Member
I have a little yellow vise that can be rotated every which way so that you have good presentation of the part you want to work on. Bright led lights above. Then I use a piece of 416 steel as a backer and wrap the sandpaper snugly around it. This gets the pins flush with the handle material.

Sean Yaw

Gold Member
Certainly part of my problem seems the be the lack of a backer. I have just been using my bare hands to sand. It makes sense why that contributes to the problem though.

Is contouring handles with embedded metal components a good application for slack belt sanding or a rotary platen?

Taz

Slack belt, no. Rotary platen helps, but uses a rubber belt as a backer, so it can still be an issue since the rubber has some give to it. Wood to metal is always a pain. Metal to Micarta isn't as bad. I use a piece of G10 or Micarta often as my sanding backer.

Signalprick

Jason Ritchie - Ritchie Handmade Knives
Gold Member
Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider