Hapstone R2 Uneven Bevels

I’m new to sharpening and have the Hapstone R2 with the angled clamps. What I’ve noticed on the last couple of knives is that I’m getting uneven edge bevels, one side has a wider edge than the other. Is this because of ffg blades? I’m trying to clamp on a square cut part of the tang where possible. Is this just to be expected with ffg blades? Besides cosmetics, does it really matter? Thanks.

I’m using an angle cube, but only to check the initial angle on one side. Should I check both sides and adjust clamps as needed?

I’m getting uneven edge bevels, one side has a wider edge than the other.
Normally that is 2 things. The bevels came uneven from the factory, and you are just repeating their mistake, or your angles are not the same in the sharpeners blade holder. EG. one side is 17deg, the other side is 21deg.

I’m using an angle cube, but only to check the initial angle on one side. Should I check both sides and adjust clamps as needed?

I've never used a Hapstone system, but yes, anytime you move the clamp, or move the blade in the clamp, you should recheck the angle with your angle cube. I recheck my angles even when changing stones.

It’s possible to have knife in the clamp slightly off also. That would cause the e even angles

I also have an r2 and had the same issue

I use my angle cube on both sides and adjust each flip

Since I've done that I have had 0 bevel problems!

(I have notice my ffg blades can sit more one way or the other, you can initially get your angle even on both sides before you fully tighten your clamps too)