Heat Treat quenching

I have finally purchased an Evenheat oven to do my own heat treating. I've been sending my knives out for two years, and finally got tired of the wait, although the quality has been good. And, I just want to learn how to do it. I have the oven, foil, tongs, internal bricks, etc, but am thinking ahead for quenching. I only do stock removal, and work with CPM 154, 440C, and A2, for the most part.

What would you advise I get in the way of quenching apparatus and materials?

Two 3/4" thick plates of aluminum and plate quench ! No messy oil etc. All of your steels are suitable for plate quenching.Do a search on "plate quenching", lots of info.

Mete's absolutely right. You wrap the blade in foil, follow the recommended pre-soaks and austentizing soaks, and then place the blade, foil and all, between two thick aluminum plates. Maybe put a piece of brown paper in the foil with the knife to burn off any oxygen, but a tight packet will take care of most of that.

Check ebay as they usually have plates for sale at a decent price. I got a 12"x12", 3/4" thick aluminum plate and cut it in half to have two 12"x6" plates. Careful if you're treating more than one blade in succession that the aluminum cools enough (to near room temp) between plate quenches. I tapped and mounted my plates into a wood working vise and attached it to the work bench so I could clamp them down for cooling. Some people just place some weight on the plates or stand on them.

--nathan

fitzo

Gold Member
Nathan, re-post the pic of your vise, if you would, please....
I use the same setup, and used a wood vise that has one of the "quick release" triggers.
Plate quenching kicks a$$ for air-quench steel. Helps reduce potential for warpage, too.

Here's my plate setup. I wanted a vise with a quick release, but was going on the cheap and couldn't find a good quick release I wanted. I should be able to close the plates in just a second or two anyway.