Heirlooms. Pic heavy.

Jackknife got me thinking with his last tale, and I thought back to my own precious pieces, given by those long gone and treasured.

First that came to mind was my grandfather. Scoutmaster for about 40 years, 4 National Jamborees, he made it long enough to see both sons and 4 of his grandsons finish Eagle. He passed on in 2005, but I still have a few snips to remember him by.

DSC_0046-1-1.jpg

That Handbook was given to me back when I turned 8 and got serious about Scouting. I'd read it cover to cover by the time I graduated up to the Boy Scouts, and it's still the yardstick by which I measure all Scout Handbooks. There's something timeless there, from the Rockwell illustrations to the descriptions that pulled no punches, merely said what needed said. The modern Handbooks pale in comparison- my last copy was a 2000ish one, and it isn't fit to hold up the 65's kneesocks.

Look close, you can even see the price tag from 1965.
DSC_0048.jpg

The Marble's there is a patent 1916, just like Grandpa. ;) I found it under the seat of his Mercury after he passed on, and it was in sad shape. Apparently, it had been put there as an emergency knife, and water had gotten to it. It looked really rough with the stag molding, the washers rotting and the blade thoroughly beaten, but a little restoration has brought it back. In summer 2006, it returned to those hills for another run through the oaks. It'll still whittle and work meat like a champion, and Lord only knows how many deer that dressed.

The watch was a graduation gift in 1936, and the knife came a few years later. It was his grandfather's, courtesy of E. Felsenheld of New York. Levine's Guide dates the mark to circa 1900, and considering that Grandpa's grandfather passed in 1907, that fits. The master blade is worn, the spey has been reshaped into a pipe reamer/scraper, and the jigging is worn smooth. Grandpa gave it to me the last time I saw him actually home, with the admonition to never sell it.