Help for a total newcomer, and a chance for nostalgia.

So, as you can see by my profile, I am a complete newbie to this site, and except a pocket knife from my cub scout days (two blade swiss army, as far as I can tell not very good, and I haven't actually carried it outside of a camping trip) and a very shoddy butterfly knife (not my purchase) I have no knife experience. I have been looking around the forums for a while, and I see a lot of great general use knives that I am looking into, but my question to all of you is this:

What was your first good or memorable knife, and do you think it was a good first good knife? What would you recommend to a complete newbie like me? (Remember, this isn't going to be just my first quality knife, for all intents and purposes it will be my first knife at all).

To give you an idea of where I am, I am looking for a folder that I can carry every day and open boxes with (I work at my uncle's warehouse on weekends, lots of boxes to open) but that will stand up to some heavier work if the occasion arises. From what I see both the Leek and the Blackout look very cool, and the BM 710 seems to be fairly well respected. Also, since Christmas just rolled around I am looking for about a max of $150, but I don't want to spend more of it than you think I should. (also, I am in FL, if that matters at all)

Thank you for any advice you can offer me.

So you got two questions. 1) my first good knife 2) an EDC recomendation.

1) My first good knife was a Buck Folding Hunter, now called a model 110. It was a good first knife for me. Things were a bit more open in '69 and I could carry it openly on my belt all over the place. It's probably not what you would want for your use.

2) I think a Benchmade Griptilian might be a good first knife for your usage. It's about a 3 1/2" blade. Very comfortable in the hand. Good steel. Secure lock. But I'm sure you will hear lots of recommendations for lots of different knives.

Welcome to Bladeforums.