Help me choose my everyday carry.

Greetings; I'm new to bladeforums, but I've lurked for a little.

I'm well familiar with the knife carry laws in California (Los Angeles specifically) so I have a pretty good idea of what I'm looking for, but I need recommendations from people who have a "tried and true" folder for everyday open (belt clip) carry.

Here's what I need:

High quality steel - stronger the better
Belt clip - I need to carry openly, mostly for quick/frequent access
3" (no more, no less, if at all possible) blade - two blades preferred if possible
Locking blade(s), with a biased towards closed, but will open with a flick of the wrist (I dislike thumb studs and similar - I was considering the spring-assisted Kershaw blades).
Partial serration on the one blade, or full serration on the secondary blade

I don't have a particular brand bias, so I'm willing to consider nearly anything. I dislike tanto blades, but I could be convinced to get one if the testimonials were good enough.

Anyone have any suggestions?

The $40 Wal-Mart Native would fulfill a fair amount of your requirements.

The clips you see on most knives are not designed to be clipped to belts. They are pocket clips similar to the clips on pens. The knife goes in the pocket with the clip on the outside of the pocket. This keeps the knife at the top of the pocket for easy access. You will likely mangle the clip if you clip the knife to your belt.