Help me find this knife?

I'm new to fixed blades but looking to expand my horizons. I'd like to get myself a fixed blade for general use, hiking, camping, no every day carry though. Probably 4-5 inches and I like tool steels, not stainless. I also like traditional looking so wood, leather, maybe micarta scales/handles. And I'd like to keep the price low so under $200. Suggestions?

LT Wrighr GNS full flat grind o1 steel, my personal favorite. Extremely comfortable in use. They can be had in full flat, saber, or scandi grind and in several steels and handle materials. If I could have only one fixed blade my GNS would be the one.
Can't get picture to load for some reason.

Last edited:
Western L66 or W66 (leather or wood grip respectivley) or F66 (AKA: "Black Beauty" with alternating Aluminum and black fiber washers) Fairly common on the used market, tho I understand some of the sellers on big auction site are asking dream world prices.
I found my latest, an almost like new "D" (1980) date code L66 at the local pawnshop for $25 or $30, I think it was, a couple years ago.
I don't know how the post 2007 Camillus bankruptcy offshore made Western knives compare. (Camillus owned Western in 2007 when they went under.)

Ontario 499 "Jet Pilot Survivl Knife"
You'll want to thin the edge a mite, and sharpen to 12 - 15 DPS to improve the fine cutting ability, and how long it will hold a usable working edge.

Finnish made Puukko.

Mora
Several models to choose from with the blade length you want. Some have laminted blades, and a choice of carbon steel or stainless steel. I like the Number 1 and 2 for the blade length. you mention. The Number 1 is just under 4 inches (3.9 inch) and the Number 2 is 4.125 inch, if my memory is operational at the moment. (no guuarantees or promises on that.)

Cold Steel FINN BEAR.

Some don't consider the Mora and FINN BEAR to be a Puukko because they are not made in Finland.

Last edited: