Help me make a Strop

While cleaning my shop at work I came across and old roll of belt replacement leather and came up with the idea of making some strops. I've perfected my sharpening skills with diamond stones and lapping films IMO and now I would like to start working on stropping skills. I'm very much a total noob when it comes to stropping (never tried it) so be honest and let me know if i'm wasting my time on this weekend project. Here's what I found, A roll of leather 2'' X 10' that is painted on one side and raw on the other.
kepJzp1.jpg
Both sides are bonded to a stiff plastic core.
dAO6seP.jpg
Close up of the raw side.
wrO0PK2.jpg
And this is the painted side I planned on glueing to a piece of hardwood flooring.
fIOxRVv.jpg
The texture on the raw side is that of a very tight suede that I can't even put a fingernail dent in. Now opinions please, Would this work as a Strop? or am I wasting my time. If it's good to go then how long should make the strop and should I bother on glueing it to a board at all or set it up like a Barber's strop? Also would the compounds from the local hardware store work well or would I be better off ordering some compound online?

I admire you. I've been working on my sharpening skills for about forty years and have yet to perfect them. ;)

What are you stropping? For steels with lower vanadium content the rough side will be fine. Some use that plain/raw and prefer smooth for compounds but you can put compounds on the rough side as well. Probably could Gorilla glue the strip to a piece of 2x2 or whatever and be good.

For steels with higher vanadium content (S30V, S90V, etc.) I think you'll prefer smooth leather and diamond/CBN sprays or pastes.

You can literally strop on cardboard. For the most part, you don't want too much give in the leather as that will promote edge rounding and convexity. Unless you want those things, then you know... :)

I wouldn't strop on the painted side.

Last edited: