Help with my first throwing knives.

I'm new at this whole throwing knife thing, and I'd like some suggestions. Do you recommend blade or handle first throwing? Any techniques you all prefer? Thanks. :confused:

I use the blade first method, I was told a long time ago by a knife maker that throwing the handle first puts added stress on the point of the blade. As for tech. I use what you might call a baseball pitch, it starts about ear level and the knife is released at eye level. Hope this will help:)

Hi fasdar,
Welcome to the forums. The way that you throw your knife will eventually be a personal preference. Most people have seen all of the movies where the knife is thrown by the blade and many will then go to a B& M knife shop or find a small throwing knife in one of the many catalogs. They will then try to emulate those scenes in the movies by grabbing the blade and hurling it at a target of sorts. Most of what is available commercially will be too small to do any serious throwing. They will then think that they are not cut out to be knife throwers or that is is too hard to learn and will then put them in a drawer never to be seen again until that next movie or television show stirs their interest again. There are only a few custom makers who specialize in quality competetion style knives for those who are serious about the sport. In the last 6 or seven years since the American Knife Throwers Alliance has brought throwing competetions into the public eye, the knives that are available commercially have gotten a little better, but the majority of the serious throwers still depend on the larger heavier custom throwing knives. Do a search here on this forum and you will find some great resources for knife throwing. Try to find either a thrower in your area or try to attend one of the larger contest closest to you. Feel free to e mail me if I can help you locate a contest in your area.