Home built grinders

A very nice fellow came to the shop the other day . His name is Mike Alexander from West Virgina.. He sent me to a post on a great looking home built grinder. There are no springs to mees with and it looks very easy to build. Heres the url
http://www.bacafe.org/KBG/

Take a look down the page.

You might want to have a look at the grinders we use. You can see them at http://www.customcutlery.com/grinders.html

They are a little simpler than this other one and can be set up in very little time with very little effort.

The total cost of these outfits are about $600. - $700. and last for a bunch of years, two of mine are going on 13 years old and they are used hard and put away wet ... often.

If you have any other questions or need help getting any of the parts just let me know.

Jim

[This message has been edited by customcutlery (edited 10-14-98).]

Customcutlery
I've been to your site for grinders. I'm an amateur knifemaker and am in the procces of setting up a shop and been thinking of making my own belt grinder. Looks like your using 48" belts. Everyone I've talked to or read says that I should use 72" belts to keep the heat down and the 72" belts will last longer. Does'nt look like you have any platens either, do you have something else for this? It seems that 48" belts are a lot easier to get too, is this why you use them? I live in Ca. and there aren't a whole lot of knife suppliers out here, especially since Blades and stuff folded.
Does anyone else have ideas about this beltgrinder dilema? I would appreciate any coments on this.

David - Check out True Grit in Rancho Cucamonga. They carry a full line of 72" belts. I think Bob Engnath bought his from them. I've used them for several years and am very satisfied.

I've been using an outfit called JISCO (Johnson Industrial)
for belts, they carry A/O, S/C, & Zircon...will make any length
& the only minimum is the width divided into 12", so a minimum of