How To How do I fix a lockback that is too tight?

I am trying to make a lockback from a Rough Rider kit. Please forgive the sloppy crafmanship, I'm still learning, and I have not ground down the pins or done the sanding and buffing, yet. I'll get there.

I have a problem, though. I think I made the plates too tight. This makes the lock on the spine stay up (see image) unless I press it down manually, and press it pretty hard.

When the lock is loose the blade will just drop free up to the point in the photo.

If you were to hold it in your hand you would find that the back lever/spring (not sure what to call it) does not want to teeter-totter. There's too much friction. This is an issue from both the front and from the little button at the back.

Does anyone know how I can fix this? And how to prevent causing this problem in the future?

I am considering putting a screwdriver in there and twisting to try to open the space between the two plates to relieve some of that friction but I'd rather get some of all of your advice before I mess this up any further.

Many, many thanks!!!

Attachments

• dea343f7-d975-4743-800e-5c79dc5467dd.jpg
    dea343f7-d975-4743-800e-5c79dc5467dd.jpg
    37.8 KB · Views: 8
  • 69e9bab5-513b-4631-a24b-88fecb638597.jpg
    69e9bab5-513b-4631-a24b-88fecb638597.jpg
    18 KB · Views: 8
  • aaea1f63-e103-4a3c-bf98-10716b11ffd8.jpg
    aaea1f63-e103-4a3c-bf98-10716b11ffd8.jpg
    57.8 KB · Views: 8
chances are you peened the middle pin to much.

Tap it lightly once on each side-with the other side unsupported.
Repeat as necessary.

The three pins have different functions and are peened differently.
Once all pins are in place and everything seems aligned:
The but pin is peened first. Peen it snug. You can always go back later and snug it more.
The pivot pin is peened next. Peen it only enough to start getting some tension/friction on the blade. Again, you can tighten it much easier than loosening it.