How do you sharpen a recurve blade? What's the best and easiest way?

Hi all,

First of all, I apologize if this has been beaten to death but I didnt find specific discussions on it.

I have a Kershaw Shallot 1840 that has a recurve blade, which needs a sharpening but also I want to get a ZT 350KW from knifeworks that has the satin blade but that too has a recurve blade. I am afraid to get the ZT and thinking about getting rid of the Shallot so I can stay away from recurves but I would really rather learn what is needed to keep them sharp.

What do all of you use to sharpen these types of blades? It must be done as there are alot of ZT's out there! :D

Oh, yeah, forgot to mention that I am very new to sharpening and will eventually try my luck at freehand as I have a Japanese waterstone on its way that is 400/1200 grits.

Thanks!

Any firm cylindrical backing, with wet/dry sandpaper is my preference for recurves. Pick a cylinder that best 'fits' the blade's profile. Might be a dowel, broomstick, section of PVC pipe, bed post, etc. I'd more likely use an edge-trailing (stropping) stroke, but one can use edge-leading strokes too, if done carefully.

Thanks for the tips so far.

I dont own a belt sander so cant go that route!

I will look into the wet/dry sandpaper and dowels. Any certain grits I should look at?

Does anyone have a ZT 0350 that they sharpen? If so, what do you use?

You can just do it on your waterstone. The long outside edge of the stone will get rounded over a bit and the recurve portions of the edge will make good contact (sharpening recurves is what made me get into waterstones to begin with). You could also take another stone and put a radius on the waterstone ahead of time to eliminate any undue wear on the blade, but even if you just go right at, unless the waterstone is very tough, it will wear down just fine on its own.
You can also lap a radiused edge on any whetstone and it will work well.

Thanks for the tips so far.