How to remove a stripped screw?

JDX

hey everybody, before I start let me preface by saying I looked at plenty of threads which all said the same thing. Either a dremel, or heating or cooling the screw. But I don't use loctite so there isn't any loctite to heat or cook and I don't own a dremel. I'm a broke college student and so far I've tried the rubber band trick which has done nothing.

I tried using a T9 but that also won't work. I honestly wouldn't care if it was a pocket clip screw but it's a pivot screw on my paramilitary 2. I called spyderco and they basically said it would cost $20 plus $5 for shipping which I don't think is worth it considering it also takes forever to get the knife back.

I was wondering if there's any way to take this thing out that costs less than $10 and doesn't require any experience. For example, using a dremel.

Thanks

You got your answer: Dremel and a lot of attention. A Dremel is a very useful tool for many things and it's much cheaper than most BM or Spydie, I recommend you investing on one... And practice with it before doing delicate stuff.
You can try screw extractors too, it's even cheaper but you'll need a driller.

Carefully slot the screw with a Dremel cut off wheel. Then just use a flathead to unscrew. But in your case, the pivot screw is flush, or below the handle, so the slotting option is out. Now is time for the EZE Out set, you can get it at your local hardware store.

Last edited:
I thought the pivot on a PM2 was a T10? Even if you manage to get it out with the dremel you will still want a replacement screw. Spyderco may be the best option.

EDIT: I agree with the extraction kit. since it is flush and you do not want to damage the scales as well.

I assume that you mean the head of the screw does not provide a region for the driver to "bite". A "stripped" screw means the threads are somehow removed, and the bolt/screw just spins without moving in/out of the female receptacle.