How to sand knife scales without scratching blade at bolster

I am a newbie and got a knife kit recently. Woodworking is my hobby (but I know nothing about metal work). I made a mess this afternoon trying to sand the knife scales close to the bolster (have not figured out how to upload images yet). I am using a Katsura knife kit where the knife scales connect continuously to the bolster. Two questions:

(1) What is the correct way to sand the wood near the bolster so that the bolster does not get scratched.
(2) Once I have scratched the bolster, what can I do to remove the scratches?

Thanks!!

This is probably a better question for the maker section of this forum. I am not an expert on bolsters but I think masking tape before sanding would be your best bet. :) Depending how scratched it is, you can probably hand sand them out. Just go slow and reduce your grits slowly making sure you get all the scratches before moving on to the next grit. Use the search bar on this forum, it will answer almost every question you have. Good luck!

I think you have to have the scales perfect before you attach them. Test fit, Mark, sand, test fit, Mark, sand until they are perfect. Then attach them.

The bolsters need to be sanded with fiber and fiber grits then polished.

This is probably a better question for the maker section of this forum.
Sorry about posting to the wrong forum.

Depending how scratched it is, you can probably hand sand them out.
OK, I did mask the bolster with tape, but the belt sander tore it up. I think next time I may use a scroll saw to cut close to the bolster rather than using the belt sander. At this point I will try to sand/buff-out the scratches.

I think you have to have the scales perfect before you attach them. Test fit, Mark, sand, test fit, Mark, sand until they are perfect. Then attach them.