How Would You Rate Emerson Knives ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wolverine666

Gold Member
I've been thinking about trying a couple Emerson knives. I have no experience with this brand but they look decent. How is the quality ? Good fit and finish ? Are they on par with Spyderco and Benchmade quality-wise ?

Overall quality wise, yes, I would consider them on par with most Spydercos and Benchmades. Fit and finish wise, Spyderco has the edge on both companies IMHO.

Emersons are a tad different though. No matter what we say here you wont know if Emersons are for you until you get one in your hand and use it. If you like it, it probably wont be your last and if you don't like it you wont have a problem trading or selling it.

Quality is a bit iffy for me, given the tendency for 154CM to chip, which I find surprising given how soft they run it. I like the designs and the light weight, but I'm not a fan of the reverse chisel grind, the chisel edge, and the late lockups of the linerlock(also sticky as hell prior to break-in), which sometimes contact the opposite liner.

I could however suggest considering the ZT/Emerson collaborative knife(0620), which should be due for release later this year. It would be the best of both worlds, with Emerson's designs being executed with ZT quality and F&F. Lock wear should be a non-issue with the steel insert on the framelock.

But as far as general purchases go, the Big Three(Kershaw/ZT, Spyderco, Benchmade) still has my wallet hostage:D. Emerson also haven't upgraded their steel beyond the soft and chippy 154CM.

I'll be honest, they aren't on par with Spyderco or Benchmade. That doesn't make them sub-par, though. I've owned a handful of Emersons (CQC 7, Horseman, Mini CQC 7 and Mini Commander) and they were all solid knives. Their ergos are good, G10 is grippy and you get a decent chunk of chisel ground 154CM.