Huh...din't see that comin'....

So I've been doing Judo for a couple years now, on and off. Pretty much dropping out during the busy construction season, and due to a couple of injuries, etc. Havent' been real consistent. Just going in there to have some fun, etc. I've been in a couple of competitions, and placed first and all, but that was just due to prior experience in collegiate and freestyle wrestling. More or less I've been paying way more attention to my son than anything else in there.

So tonight I went in there and participated for the first time in a coons age, and got called up front after practice. Once it was confirmed that yes, they wanted ME to come up front I started wondering what the heck I did wrong, and why they were gonna make an example out of lil ole me. (a couple of the instructors are frequently on my case about being cautious and not hurting my partners in practice) Instead they promoted my sorry ole shaggy butt to a green belt! (was white belt before)

I guess I feel pretty good about it....definitely would have never, ever seen it coming. Of course now I'm feeling all sortsa pressured to push myself a little harder there, which is really a unique situation for me, because I was basically wiping my mind clean and considering tonight to be just like my first night ever.

Not really thumping my chest or nuthin', cause a promotion to a green belt is a pretty minor thing, but...for some reason I wanted to share it anyways. Happy, surprised, and nervous as a long tailed cat in a roomful of rocking chairs....:D :confused: :eek:

Congratulations.

You are honored without seeking honor.

That's a nice thing.

Savor it.

Congrats on finding without seeking...sweet!

At the risk of seeming like a kiss-a**, what Kismet said.

Congratulations:thumbup: :)