I finally bought a Delica, and I love it.

Discussion in 'Spyderco' started by Planterz, Aug 7, 2020.

1. Planterz

Planterz

Mar 26, 2004
    I've been carrying a pocket knife for ~25 years (I'm 40), and I've been on bladeforums for 16, and it has taken me this long to get a Delica.

My only previous experiences with the Delica were with the 3 and previous generations, fixing up worn out/damaged/dull ones for friends and co-workers. I never liked the Delica because the handle was just a tad too short. I have an older Tasman Salt, and despite having the same handles, the Tasman didn't feel like it was too small simply because the angle of the thumb ramp/hump allowed a better grip that was just barely big enough.

I didn't realize until receiving one that the Delica 4's handles are just a slight bit longer, and that extra few millimeters make a huge difference in my comfort in grip, and the size really is "just right" for me, as is the knife on the whole. I don't need a pocket machete, and the slightly thinner stock of the Delica compared to the Endura or my Caly Jr (2.5mm vs 3mm) will suit my needs for a slicier rather than more robust blade. I'm kinda embarrassed that I've waited this long to get a knife that I've recommended countless times and is certainly one of the most popular knives ever.

This definitely won't be my only Delica 4. I'm expecting I'll get a K390 one when they're out, and do a blade swap with a Zome GitD - I think the inevitable patina wil match nicely with the mottled Zome handles (plus as you can see I like stuff that glows in the dark).

[​IMG]

Pictured with FrankenLeek and an iron coin of great value.

2. Colorodo

Colorodo Gold Member Gold Member

May 23, 2014
    They are cool, just got a supergold to go with my endura.

Planterz and 91bravo like this.
  3. 5-by-5

5-by-5 Gold Member Gold Member

Oct 13, 2016
  4. DocT

DocT

Mar 25, 2012