If you were to start over......

Ron Sabbagh

LOVE YOUR COUNTRY
Platinum Member
I've been carrying a custom slip joint for many years. But as crazy as it sounds....I've never bought a non-custom (production) traditional. I always thought...well...the custom must be better.

But with better technologies nowadays, I'm thinking maybe a high quality production or mid tech traditional might find room in my EDC collection. I don't want to be one of those "custom" snobs...

Sorta like the CRK Sebenza can be favorably compared to most customs....I'm sure there are some production traditionals that hold up to the customs.

so if you were to start over again....where would you look? GEC? Case/Bose?

I don't want to travel down the rabbit hole of vintage just yet.....just looking for what you'd recommend that's available now. Or maybe stick with customs...I don't know.

My current traditionals include knives from Gary Crowder, Terry Davis and Gene Shadley and PJ Tomes

Of the currently produced factory knives, GEC is where it's at. They've been around long enough now that there is a nice variety of patterns available if you would consider new and pre-owned. The Queen/S&M knives from the 1990s through the mid 2000s are of excellent quality as well, and can still be found for reasonable money. Having owned quite a few of both GEC and Queen/S&M, I no longer buy custom pocket knives as I can't justify the added expense for myself. Of course, your opinion could be different, but there just isn't a large difference between the better production knives and the majority of customs, IMO.

Case/Bose is the first thing that comes to my mind when comparing production knives to custom knives. Second would be anything with A.G. Russell's name on it, regardless of country of manufacture.

You also might want to take a look at the Lion Steel Barlows, Bolus series knives, and the new Best Man soon to be released.