info for a new LEO

universible

BANNED
No, its not me...but my good budy from high school was just hired by the Santa Clara Police, and is currently going through the academy. I'm just wondering if anyone has any advice I could pass on to him. The reason I ask is that he's not the most....physical person I've ever met. I mean, he's in shape and all that, but never competed in sports, and also has never had so much as a heated conversation with someone. I was a bit worried and arranged some free time to come train with me where I work out...doing some simulations and such...but he passed on it saying that the Academy would teach him whatever he needs to know. That excuse is what left a bad taste in my mouth...I don't doubt that he'll learn a lot of new things there, but I am a bit worried about what he won't learn.

So, any thoughts? Bits of wisdom? Should I just stay out of his shtuf and let him figure it out?

Thanks,

Ted

I have been training with LEO'S for several years now. Not on a full time bases but regularly enough to know that your friend will not be given all he needs to know at the academy. I hesit to say bad things about any academy that I do not have first hand knowledge of. On the other hand right now I am training with officers from 3 different police departments who went to 3 different police academies and here is what i have found. They were taught a very basic form of h2h and after several years on the job these people have found a need to take outside training to enhance there knowledge base as the approved lesson plan does not deal with these peoples concerns. 2 of these officers are personal tatics instructors. The academies do what they can within the time and money constrants they have. Over the last 20 years of trainig in the martial arts I have seen this same pattern repeated time and again. I hope you will be able to covince your friend to seek out further training after he becomes an officer. Reality is IMHO no school or academy does any