Interest in carbon fiber knife handles.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys,
I am a mechanical engineer and currently boat builder and avid tinkerer but am new to the knife world.

At my current employment we are building a large all prepreg carbon fiber boat and go through A LOT of carbon and make a whole lot of small and medium sized scrap.
I am looking for innovative ways to make use of this scrap rather than our current alternative that is to cook off and through the scrap in the trash which isnt very eco-friendly

I was thinking making knife handles would be a good use of the scrap. I could lay it up into quasi-iso plate and then machine them on my hobby cnc i have in my personal shop.
Is there any interest in CF handles currently? If so what is the average cost range?
and my next question is. is there a good place to buy blades to make handles for? or a resource for handle patterns for existing knifes? or would any blade manufacturer be interested in an eco friendly partnership of sorts?

Anyway any advice and or comments are greatly appreciated.

Stephan

I have used carbon fiber pieces for numerous handles, from 3/4" thick to 1/4". Laying up some scrap on surface plates and making pieces is a good idea. Post what you make.

Larry
Tinkerer

Hey guys,
I am a mechanical engineer and currently boat builder and avid tinkerer but am new to the knife world.

At my current employment we are building a large all prepreg carbon fiber boat and go through A LOT of carbon and make a whole lot of small and medium sized scrap.
I am looking for innovative ways to make use of this scrap rather than our current alternative that is to cook off and through the scrap in the trash which isnt very eco-friendly

I was thinking making knife handles would be a good use of the scrap. I could lay it up into quasi-iso plate and then machine them on my hobby cnc i have in my personal shop.
Is there any interest in CF handles currently? If so what is the average cost range?