Ipad or notebook? What to buy?

I’m torn between getting the latest Ipad or buying a notebook for myself. I’m a freelance web content writer and most of the time I’m always travelling. I guess you could consider me as a digital nomad. I already have a Macbook but sometimes it feels so inconvenient to bring it around. I always have to use bigger backpack so I could carry it with me when travelling. I’m going away to a Ukraine ski trip this coming winter. I wanted to bring something smaller where I could write whenever. Any suggestions or comments from the people on the internet?

I'd get a small notebook, or a less expensive Android tablet with wireless keyboard cover thingy. An iPad or any tablet will be a PITA to type on if you're doing professional writing. You can do the same with an iPad, of course, but by the time you buy it plus all the accessories, you'll have spent enough for a pretty serious laptop. A Chromebook would work good too. Something that detaches, or at least is mountable/dockable with a dock or wireless keyboard/mouse setup but also usable as a tablet would be ideal, I think. Take the tablet part with you wherever you're eventually going, but leave the dock part at the hotel.

TLDR: Something with a USB interface that you can dock with, but can take only the screen part when you want to travel lighter.

Biggest issue I have with an iPad as a sole device is file handling. Especially if cloud services are sparse. If you already have a MacBook (not the Pro) you already have a minimal footprint notebook. It's small and light and has a great keyboard and has full featured file handling.

For content, few devices can compete with an iPad Pro 10.5, it's very fast and light. The best reading device I've used.

Dell Ultrabook.

It is a notebook/tablet combo but ultra small with touchscreen capability. Also has cellular capability (if subscribed) so it is usable away from WiFi sources.