Is this a stupid idea for a treadle hammer? - Update!

Just about all the treadle hammers I see online use a direct-drive system where you step on a peddle (or "treadle," I guess) that's connected by a rod to the ram/hammer. The ram takes the same path your foot takes. Kind of like this:

Treadle%20Hammer%20traditional_zps3b1m0bv1.png

However, I wonder whether using the mechanical advantage of some levers may be beneficial, like this:

Treadle%20Hammer%20idea%201%20double%20lever_zpsb3a0jwsv.png

I'm not an engineer or all that handy with stuff like this, but I would like to build a foot powered hammer to give my elbow a break. I figure there's probably at least a few problems with my design that I haven't anticipated, and I don't know if it would even work. Any input would be appreciated!

Last edited:
In your lower drawing you lose the mechanical advantage you gain on the foot lever when it moves the hammer lever, the hammer lever puts you at an equal and opposite mechanical disadvantage. You could design a hammer linkage that would give you an actual mechanical advantage, but mechanical advantage comes at a cost: more movement. So if the hammer were to hit with twice the force applied by your foot, it would move only half as far as your foot did, and at half the speed. The force the hammer hits with is a product of mass and velocity, so the net force of the hammer hit is the same as you would get with no mechanical advantage.

You can use the power of oscillation to get some "extra" (not really, merely the recovery of a bit of energy imparted on the previous stroke) work out of a treadle hammer, where the rebound from the anvil helps lift the hammer head on a springy hammer arm a little higher for the second and subsequent hits than it starts at rest for the first stroke

Mahoney has it ... no gain from your lever system.