Is this rust on this sog recon government?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, I purchased this knife recently from a vendor I'll leave unnamed for now. I'm not experienced with bluing so I don't know if the brown lines mixed in with the bluing is normal or if the brown is in fact rust. I do know the three circular spots are definitely rust though. Can anyone tell me if the brown is normal or not?

On a side note, I've asked the vendor for a discount on the knife due to the fact that the rust spots were not in the product description whatsoever. But that request is not going so well at the moment.

Thanks for the imgur suggestion!

Last edited:
Yeah that looks like rust. You might get a better shot if you pulled back a bit and got some natural light on it. Also for pics posted here it's better if you upload them Imgur and then you can post the code here. Lots of folks will no follow a FB link.

Dang. Okay. Should I ask for a refund or a discount? What do you all think? Because the rust was never mentioned in the websites' product description.
Rust is easy to clean off. A bit of oil and a a scrub and you're good. That looks like a pretty rare knife so it's on you to give it back or negotiate a new price.

As that appears to be a carbon steel knife I would leave some oil on it and not store it in the sheath.

Rust is easy to clean off. A bit of oil and a a scrub and you're good. That looks like a pretty rare knife so it's on you to give it back or negotiate a new price.

As that appears to be a carbon steel knife I would leave some oil on it and not store it in the sheath.
Thank you for your assistance! I will continue to ask for a discount.

That's rust for sure. It can be removed but I don't think you should accept it as-is.
Do you have any photos of the entire knife?

That's rust for sure. It can be removed but I don't think you should accept it as-is.
Do you have any photos of the entire knife?