Japanese knife questions

Hi Everyone,

I'm a hobbyist knifemaker, and I've been interested in japanese cutlery lately. I have a few questions (mostly about usubas) that I'm hoping people here can help me with:

1) I understand that the nakiri is typically for home use, whereas an usuba is for professional use. Why is there this distinction?
2) Some usubas have a sort of chisel grind at the tip. Is this sharpened? Either way, what purpose does it serve?

Thanks,
Chris

Thanks. I think I understand the benefits of the usuba now. Anybody know about the chisel grind on the tip?

Also, here's a picture of what I'm working on, for your viewing pleasure:
561722_585405835500_1777143261_n.jpg

Top to bottom:
I don't know whether to call this one a short santoku, an ajikiri, usudeba, or what. It's got a 5" blade, single bevel, 1/8" thick
Usuba: 6.5" blade, single bevel, 1/8" thick
Usuba: 6.25" blade, single bevel, 1/8" thick (I think I'll be giving this one away to a charity auction)
Santoku: 7" blade, 1/8" thick (in the process of grinding it right now. it will have a high single bevel)

- Chris

Anybody know about the chisel grind on the tip?
I am not sure about the correctness of my usage, so IMHO. Chiseling out stuff in tight-space (abutt, inset, so on). Also to relief cleavering pressure for end-point-connected of low pliable sheets.

I am not sure about the correctness of my usage, so IMHO. Chiseling out stuff in tight-space (abutt, inset, so on). Also to relief cleavering pressure for end-point-connected of low pliable sheets.

These are kitchen knives.

I think the chisel tip is for Teppanyaki cooking and is there to clean the hot plate.

These are kitchen knives.

I think the chisel tip is for Teppanyaki cooking and is there to clean the hot plate.