jig vs free hand

Freehand. I don't understand the use of jigs in grinding in any situation other than mass production of a single knife shape. Learn to make the grind you want by coordinating your brain and hands. That will allow you to control the grinder to make whatever you want.

Freehand. I don't understand the use of jigs in grinding in any situation other than mass production of a single knife shape. Learn to make the grind you want by coordinating your brain and hands. That will allow you to control the grinder to make whatever you want.

I fully agree.

Yep, that's it!

Yep - free hand is the way to go! Yes, it is a bit pf a learning curve. Practice on cheap wood pieces (I get the pain stirring sticks at a hardware store like Home Depot). It's much cheaper, and because it' soft, it shows very quickly if you're using uneven pressure.

I'm very new to knifemaking, so take this for what it's worth.

After butchering a few blanks freehand, I bought Fred Rowe's Bubble Jig and have been very happy with the purchase. I'd call it more of a grinding aid than a jig.

I know but its just so difficult to get it wright I have scrapped 5 knives already

I have suggested to other young knife makers buy some cheep Home Depot flat bar and practice on that. It is not as satisfying knowing that the blank will not become a knife but it is cheep. Be shur to clearly mark the soft steel.

The biggest advantage to free hand is you can make any size and shape knife on any grinder with out making a new Jig. Politically, free hand demonstrates a crafts men's skill wear a jig is associated with unskilled assembly line work.

Politically, free hand demonstrates a crafts men's skill wear a jig is associated with unskilled assembly line work.