JKM-1 newbie Review

Hello, all. I'm not a knife expert at all, but I like HI, and I like to contribute, so here are my thoughts about the JKM-1 I picked up last month. I have a few pictures, but can't post them. It looks like the knife on the site, but the blade is deeper and not as pointy near the tip -- almost a WW2 khukri shape.

Mine is by Dil, and it's bigger than described on the web site -- 8" long, 4.5" of that is blade. The blade's spine is exactly 1/4" thick at the handle. I can't say for sure how much it weighs, but it's heavier than the 6oz listed on the HI site. I'd guess closer to 10 or 12 oz. This knife feels strong. You could use it as an oyster knife if it weren't for the risk of driving it clean through your hand. If I have a gripe about the dimensions of the knife, it's that the handle is a little shorter than ideal for me. The butt rests pretty comfortably at the base of my thumb, but I can't really hold it any further up without risk of cutting myself.

The knife came with a pretty good edge, and it only took a couple of dozen swipes on the kitchen steel to get it shaving sharp. The fit and finish are excellent -- everything smooth and no rough edges. I'd definitely be happy to get another Dil knife. The blade is too thick for slicing tomatoes or fileting fish, but it seems to do everything else you'd ask a knife of its size to do well. Overall, the knife feels very compact and strong.

The scabbard is well made and seems durable, but the thin leather dangler strips seem a little flimsy; I'll probably replace them with a length of rawhide boot lace at some point.

If you don't have a JKM, I'd recommend it. I'll be getting a couple more for friends at Christmas.

Thanks,

Bill

Good review Bill! I like them as well, but you hit exactly on the three small limitations: the short handle, the thick blade which makes slicing and dicing a bit hard, and the dangler thongs. (Although the thongs are stronger than they look.)