Kershaw Shuffle

I apologize in advance this is my first shot at a review on here. For my birthday I received a Kershaw Shuffle from my brother in law. Its marked model # 3800 on the blade. The knife has a 2 3/8 blade in 3cr13mov steel, with an overall open length of 5 5/8 inches and a weight of 2.8oz. It features a liner lock, bottle opener, and screw driver tip/lanyard hole. I was intrigued with this little knife so I put it to work to see how the 3cr13 steel holds up.

My testing was based on things I would normally encounter with my EDC. I cut up different types of cardboard (about 300 total cuts), zip ties, packing tape, stripped some wire, some plastic, whittled down some shims, and even got into a soda can. Now I am no steel expert but as far as edge retention goes this knife performed very similar to 8cr13mov in my experiences. It was also very easy to sharpen, 5 passes a side on the sharp maker and it was from dull to near shaving sharp. I found the action on the knife to be relatively smooth. There was no blade play and lock up is about 50% on my example.

The ergos on the knife are ok. There is a finger choil on the blade that I personally found useful. On this small knife it helped to choke up when cutting for me. One thing I did not care for was the bottle opener. It creates a hot spot during use. It is also sharp and I find it digs into my hand when I am closing the knife (deactivating the liner lock). I may end up taking the dremel to it. The screw driver tip on the end would work fine on larger screws. I think it would also be useful as a scraper or if you absolutely had to pry something you could use it (way better than using the blade). The pocket clip is good, a standard deep carry clip. The new K texturing provides an adequate grip. The fit and finish are on par with the price point.